Speedway gauges

User avatar
Laecaon
Site Admin
Posts: 3789
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:21 pm
Cars: '71 510 Wagon, 02 BMW 325i Wagon
Location: PDX, West side.

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby Laecaon » Sun Jul 21, 2013 3:07 pm

Yea, and then David pare went away...
User avatar
BLUE
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:48 pm
Cars: (3) s30's , (2) s130's
Location: NW Oregon

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby BLUE » Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:07 pm

Those gauges look GOOD... Driven !
Classy.

I liked this..
DRIVEN » Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:24 am wrote:
1. Make progress until broke.
2. Go make mo money.
3. Repeat.
User avatar
DRIVEN
Posts: 5265
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:05 pm
Location: I've been everywhere

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby DRIVEN » Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:22 pm

Thanks. So far no issues except for oils seepage behind the oil pressure gauge. I never really like the idea of using the plastic tubing they usually provide with mechanical gauges -- especially since this engine makes 80+psi cold. I knew better but it was past closing time when I got to that point in the install. I've since picked up a copper tubing kit and will have it swapped out in a few days.

I REALLY like having some idea of what's going on. And I love having a tach. Now I know where the rev limiter is set ;) . Last thing to do is install the fuel sender and wire up the oil and charge idiot lights.
When the only tool you have is a hammer every problem starts to look like a hippy.
User avatar
RedBanner
Posts: 2441
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:48 pm
Title: MasterBlaster
Location: vancouver , wa
Contact:

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby RedBanner » Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:13 pm

I used the old clock light wires so when the liggts come on, the gauges do also.
wayno » Sat Jul 12, 2014 9:40 pm wrote:Everything is either tight or actually rubbing.

Taterhead » Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:29 pm wrote:Datsun gods will give you one working gauge, gasoline or speedometer; you can't have both.
User avatar
BLUE
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:48 pm
Cars: (3) s30's , (2) s130's
Location: NW Oregon

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby BLUE » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:55 pm

DRIVEN wrote:Thanks. So far no issues except for oils seepage behind the oil pressure gauge. I never really like the idea of using the plastic tubing they usually provide with mechanical gauges -- especially since this engine makes 80+psi cold. I knew better but it was past closing time when I got to that point in the install. I've since picked up a copper tubing kit and will have it swapped out in a few days.

I REALLY like having some idea of what's going on. And I love having a tach. Now I know where the rev limiter is set ;) . Last thing to do is install the fuel sender and wire up the oil and charge idiot lights.


That's great to know actually ! I had not thought of the copper tubing kit and I too dis-like the idea of plastic tubing in that scenario...

hahaha rev limiter is off the gauge no ? :D

The idiot lights are clearly serving their purpose ... I rely on them every-day and even help test prototypes... :lol:

This was all neat to see installed and feedback on though really..
My tach just crapped out ( a friend gave me an autometer 5" one to stuff into my 240z dash like a thanksgiving turkey :troll: )
It should work for now ... BUT ... if I switch to an L28ET or some other EFI setup ( that's if I don't burn the car down in the process ) I'll need to switch out half-these gauges I believe (including the tach.. which is happening now).
Either way always awesome to have a matching set.

Thanks for posting these up and the feedback DRIVEN ... it helps man :thumbs: :thumbs:
DRIVEN » Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:24 am wrote:
1. Make progress until broke.
2. Go make mo money.
3. Repeat.
User avatar
DRIVEN
Posts: 5265
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:05 pm
Location: I've been everywhere

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby DRIVEN » Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:14 pm

BLUE wrote:hahaha rev limiter is off the gauge no ? :D

Rev limiter is in the ECM. I just never knew exactly where it was set before. When I was at the track on Friday I was shifting at 6200-6500. At the end of the 1/4 I was shifting 3-4 about 50 yards before the finish (not optimal gearing for the dragstrip). But if I just held 3rd, I'd hit the limiter right before I crossed the line. I found that I had a higher mph holding 3rd but a lower ET by shifting into 4th before crossing the line.

We did this car about 15 years ago. It was an engineless V8 car when we got it but had a full set of Autometer gauges. They were the silver water-filled set. I really liked them and they seemed to work well. Wish i had an interior/dash pic.
Image
When the only tool you have is a hammer every problem starts to look like a hippy.
User avatar
BLUE
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:48 pm
Cars: (3) s30's , (2) s130's
Location: NW Oregon

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby BLUE » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:07 pm

Holy crap... you're much braver than I on the shift points lol !!
I chicken out around 5k maybe 5.5k.. by the way .. lol.
I've never raced on a track before , but I understand totally what you're saying. Must be a bit frustrating that your gearing isn't that far off when racing.

errr secksee silver z...
I quite like the idea of the water filled silver matching auto-meter gauges you mentioned !
I wish you had an interior dash pic as well doh ! lol . The world turns though ;)

I just got my Auto-Meter 5" sport comp silver tach today.
Image
tach pics 71213 001 by 71240z, on Flickr
put it in.
Image
tach pics 71213 007 by 71240z, on Flickr
It looks better in person than in the pictures.. or at least I think so.
Image
tach pics 71213 009 by 71240z, on Flickr

Image
tach pics 71213 010 by 71240z, on Flickr

Image
tach pics 71213 012 by 71240z, on Flickr

I'll likely re-locate the shift light somewhere else.. (haven't figured that out).
I also have to re-locate the turn signal indicator lights ( as you well know ) , but that shouldn't be much of a problemo.
I have to finish up my exhaust though (broke my 220v female plug today... have to get a new one before welding.. doh !).

The thing I like about this tach being as big as it is ... is I can actually see it instead of making this face all the time :P
Having a brighter background on the gauge is quite nice !
In the end having matching gauges is the shiz for sure.
I'll have to figure that out later on ... especially if I do an L28ET or more exotic swap .. where I also need to replace the fuel gauge and add a boost gauge.
DRIVEN » Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:24 am wrote:
1. Make progress until broke.
2. Go make mo money.
3. Repeat.
User avatar
DRIVEN
Posts: 5265
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:05 pm
Location: I've been everywhere

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby DRIVEN » Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:51 pm

That tach is very similar to what was in that silver Z. You're gonna love it.
When the only tool you have is a hammer every problem starts to look like a hippy.
User avatar
BLUE
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:48 pm
Cars: (3) s30's , (2) s130's
Location: NW Oregon

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby BLUE » Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:13 pm

DRIVEN wrote:That tach is very similar to what was in that silver Z. You're gonna love it.


THIS ^^^ is good news DRIVEN ... me right now ---> :troll:

Thanks man !! ... I'm pretty stoked over it .
DRIVEN » Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:24 am wrote:
1. Make progress until broke.
2. Go make mo money.
3. Repeat.
User avatar
DRIVEN
Posts: 5265
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:05 pm
Location: I've been everywhere

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby DRIVEN » Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:34 am

Well, after 2 years there have been a couple hiccups. The fuel gauge sometimes sticks on E (only when you start the car) when the tank is below 1/4 tank. If you hit even a tiny bump or just tap the gauge face once it jumps up to the appropriate level. Not that big of a deal.
Also, the (mechanical) temp gauge will occasionally do stay on 100 until the engine is mid-warm, then jumps up to the appropriate level. This is pretty rare but does happen. Tapping the gauge has no effect.
When the only tool you have is a hammer every problem starts to look like a hippy.
User avatar
izzo
Site Admin
Posts: 5645
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:32 pm
Title: Save a pimp, Rent a bitch.
Cars: Too many
Location: Astoria, OR
Contact:

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby izzo » Fri May 20, 2016 12:13 am

That sucks. Never ran speedway gauges. Do kind of like speedhut gauges, but spendy as all get out.. Autometer makes a lower priced line Autogage. have used those and they work great. Really want a GPS speedometer. Maybe one day. Only thing I run aftermarket for gauges really these days is just a voltmeter. Very handy to have.
8========D ~~~ ( o Y o )
jayden71: titty ponk

devilsbullet wrote: 1400 obo. and best offer doesn't mean 300 bucks you cheap bastards
User avatar
Laecaon
Site Admin
Posts: 3789
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:21 pm
Cars: '71 510 Wagon, 02 BMW 325i Wagon
Location: PDX, West side.

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby Laecaon » Fri May 20, 2016 1:44 am

At my old work we had to warranty out the autometer EGT gauges ALOT. Low end Autometer sucks in my opinion. I like VDO for the classic gauges. But I will be doing Speedhut in my car as they have solid reviews, and I can get them however I want.
User avatar
draker
Posts: 2539
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:44 pm
Cars: 1969 Datsun 510 - 4 door
1971 Datsun 510 - 2 door
1992 Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo
2002 Tacoma Double Cab 4x4
Location: Eugene, Or

Re: Speedway gauges

Postby draker » Fri May 20, 2016 7:29 pm

I have no regrets with the speed huts. Built them to match the stock look and backlight. Plus.. lifetime warranty I think

Return to “Electrical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest